Snow and Bad Influences

by brianp411

Yesterday, I was looking for a place to park after I got out of work. I couldn’t find a place that was shoveled and most of the areas surrounding the sidewalk were filled with piles of snow. I figured I’d park in front of this persons house who lives at the bottom of the hill from where I live. I left enough space for them so they could get to their car and I knew that the following day, I’d be going to school early at 8 so I’d be gone before anybody would notice me.

This morning, I head down the hill to get  to my car and I see that there is a car behind me. As I approach closer, I notice that the car is a big Ford Explorer and he’s parked right near me. I tried to back up as best as I could but to no avail. Behold, I see a piece of paper sticking to my windshield. At first I thought it was a ticket, but I didn’t park near any meters so that dispelled that idea. I then saw that it was written off a torn piece of a owners manual and I instantly began to panic. The paper read “You didn’t shovel. Cars get messed up for shit like this. Don’t park here again.”

Then I looked forward and then I noticed that the same person who had written that note was probably the same person who had also put a bunch of snow on my car. Look, I realize taking other peoples spots that people have shoveled is shitty but come on now? You’re going to make me miss class and threaten fuck up my car or me? Come on now. I was out on Saturday shoveling for 3 hours and somebody took my spot today. I didn’t complain or say anything. Sometimes, I think people are too quick to jump to conclusions or violence. Needless to say, I was kind of pissed off this morning cuz of that.

After driving my mom’s car to school to make it on time, two of my friends from high school walked into my history class. I was always cool with them but only days prior, one of them had plagiarized an entire one page paper (double spaced, pathetic, I know) and now sat near me. He had withdrawn out of multiple classes that he felt were hard and failed a lot of others, but he was my friend. Honestly, I don’t know why I associate with these people.

In high school, I used to give in to a lot of peer pressure and fuck around a lot, and that was highly due to being bullied and wanting to fit in. Well, these two kids in my class are a throwback to that time. I felt disappointed in myself today because I was constantly joking and being disruptive in class with them like I used to be back in high school, and shortly after class I realized how much of an asshole I had been to the teacher (this was a teacher I liked too!). I don’t know what comes over me sometimes. Things I would never do, I do because I’m as impressionable as a clay doll.

Here I am at 21, still learning how to overcome peer pressure. I just worry about how this peer pressure shit is going to play out in the future. I may very well be ruining my life as a result of it. It nearly did in high school; and like a nasty dream from the past, I don’t want to go back there.

