Internship Interview and accomplishments journal

by brianp411

I’m sitting here in my JC Penny suit typing this but I’m happy and disappointed at the same time. I had my interview today for an accounting internship I’m planning on doing for a drug rehab/mental health facility that’s local to my community. The interview was very casual with questions like “tell me about yourself” and “what do you know about us?” Despite being casual, my responses were not very mind-blowing. I couldn’t stop talking about myself when I was asked and when it came time to ask them questions or to answer the question of what I knew about them, I didn’t have much to say! I didn’t prepare enough for the interview nor did I do enough research before hand (if you can call reading a snippet off their website 30 mins. before the interview research). I can’t believe I would walk into a job interview like that! I feel like an idiot.

Despite all that, I realized something: If I don’t get this internship, it’s not because they’re a bunch of jerks or that I’m not qualified, it’s that I just need to use this as an opportunity to better myself and my interview skills. Thinking back on it, I didn’t really do that bad. My qualifications weren’t outstanding but I think I made a good impact. Hopefully I get this thing!

In the meantime, I’ll keep studying and practicing the skills I’m trying to improve on.

Here’s a list of skills I’m currently working on:

-Having patience
-Communicating and listening (need better soft skills!)
-Excel/Quickbooks
-Algebra/Calculus
-Review of accounting principles
-Computer networking/Linux/command line

PS: I’ve had this idea for an accomplishment journal. It would be an online journal either in WordPress or Evernote where I would make a list of accomplishments to date that I’ve done and stories and background information on how I achieved them. I would update it as soon as I achieved something at work/school so that I could always remember that moment.  That way, when I get into the real big interview, with really hard questions like “what’s the hardest thing you’ve ever had to do?” or “how did you persuade your team on an idea that they disagreed on” I could pull a story out of my back pocket without making anything up.

